Thursday, October 24, 2013

Running with the dogs

The other day, I came across this article about a young girl who is legally blind, but loves to run and does so with the assistance of a dog (check out the article here). Not only is this a very uplifting story but it got me thinking about my own adventures in running with dogs. I've been running for over 7 years now, and 5 of those years have been accompanied by first Apollo (my 6 year old yellow lab mix) and then Kona (my almost 2 year old GSD). I am by no means an expert on this and if you have any concerns regarding running with a dog (or dogs), I would definitely consult your furry friend's veterinarian. But I do want to give a few tips I have learned over the years through trial and error (...well, a lot of error but somehow we've all come out unscathed!):

1. Do NOT expect to run for time. Your dog will not understand that you are trying to run 5 miles at a pace of 9 minutes per mile. Your dog is a dog. Your dog will inevitably have to pee, poop, take a break or just want to stop and sniff something.

2. Pay attention to your dog. Especially when running in heat and/or humidity. You might want to power through those last few miles but your dog might need a break. A pretty good indication is if you stop to wait for a crosswalk signal and your dog almost immediately lays down. Let him rest and then refer back to tip #1.

3. Run safe. Run against traffic where possible (the exception would be in places where there is a good distance between where you are running and the road) and do not run in the bike lane or road in a busy area. Make sure you are running in a well lit area as well or bring a light with you. The last thing you want is for someone to surprise you and your dogs. Now for me, one of the perks of running with my dogs (besides getting all of our exercise knocked out at once) is that I know my dogs will keep me safe should someone attack. But that doesn't mean I want them to mistakenly attack an innocent passerby who I simply did not see because it was too dark. Be aware of your surroundings.

4. Bring water. Even if you aren't going to have any for yourself, make sure you have some for your pooch. Granted, during the winter I typically don't if I'm running less than 5 miles but it is still a good rule to follow.

5. They need training, too. Just like you built up to running your daily miles and weekly long run, your pup needs that build up too.

6. The last, and most important, tip: HAVE FUN!! Running with your dog isn't just exercise for them; it's also a chance to spend some quality time with mom (or dad). My pups know as soon as they see me pull out running clothes what we are about to do and their excitement shows. And I love it. Find dog friendly races in your area or invite a friend and their pups to go for a run. Enjoy the moment with your dog and their joy at getting to run and be with you.
This photo was taken in July 2012 at the Superhero Dash in Olympia, WA with my two favorite running companions:Bat-dog (Apollo) and Robin-dog (Kona) :)

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Motivation can come from the most unlikely sources

I started my new job today. Let's just say I'm less than thrilled but am beyond grateful to have the job. I will definitely be on the hunt for something new though, that's for sure. So far, the people have been great but the company is starting to seem more and more like not such a great company. I disagree with a lot. But, I guess I have to put up with it. For now. The pups and I went for a 2.25 mile run this morning. Nothing beats getting up and going for a run in crisp fall air. I would have loved to have gone longer but I woke up a little too late. Any run is better than no run, though and I'm glad I made it out there. This is also what brings me to the title of this post. While out on said run, an older man parked his car along the road outside an office (presumably where he works), got out of his car and said something along the lines of "It's good to see you out here. Keep up the good work." Now, there was a time when I hated when people would say stuff like that to me. My other "fat" runners out there will understand. It can make you feel like the person speaking to you is so surprised that you can run that they feel the need to say something. In fact, I will never forget that when I first started running (which began as invite from two college roommates to run the Honolulu Marathon with them) and told people I was training for it, I actually had a friend say "You're running a marathon?!" Insert snide chuckle from said friend here. If you can't tell, this made me a little jaded. And my own lack of self-confidence at the time only added more fuel to that fire. But I did run the marathon that year (2007) and even though I slacked off on training towards the end (a terrible mistake!) and walked the last 6 miles, I still crossed that finish line and earned that finisher's medal. I've since realized, through several more years of loathing random comments from strangers, that some people just genuinely want to cheer you on and in their own way let you know that they think you are awesome.

So this brings me back to my experience today. There aren't many safe places around Wilmington to go running, let alone with dogs. And by unsafe, I mean very few sidewalks and basically no crosswalks, aided by drivers that just don't pay attention. So I had set out to run a route that was just over 1.5 miles as it is a fairly safe route that I can start from my house and a shorter distance than my other "safe" route (which is at minimum 4.25 miles, something I was NOT ready for today). But when this total stranger today offered a few words of encouragement, he had no way of knowing that he provided me with a second wind that without hesitation, made me take a left turn and add 0.75 miles to my route. That might not seem like very far, but when you haven't been sticking to your normal routine (i.e., not running at all), even that extra 0.75 miles can feel like an extra two miles. So to the old man today, I say thanks.

For any newer runners out there, I'd like to use this as an opportunity to remind you that it is absolutely okay to accept encouragement from total strangers. And no matter how self-conscious you feel, remember that the people who drive by you on your runs aren't thinking about whatever problem areas on you that you are; instead they are thinking of one of three things: 1. "Man, I can't wait to go for my next run!", 2. "Wow, that takes a lot of motivation" or 3. "I wish I could do that." So dust that chip off your shoulder, welcome that encouragement and run with your head held high. You never know; you just might be encouraging someone else to take that first step out the door or run that extra half mile.

Sunday, September 29, 2013

I'm baaack!

I started this blog almost TWO years ago. Two. I posted twice. I gave up on the HCG diet because I almost passed out at work and I never looked back. My journey through weight loss has not gone anywhere, really. Very disappointing. I got more serious about running than I had been in awhile this past spring and had worked my way up to 5 miles every morning with that Saturday being the start of 6 mile daily runs, followed by a long run on Saturdays. And then I got injured. Pulled my quad. And it took FOREVER to heal. It finally healed; I started getting back into the swing of things and then I moved across the country. Try running in 98% humidity when it is already 75 degrees out at 7am with two dogs. Not easy. So I've had a hard time getting back into running since moving to North Carolina. The weather has finally cooled and I really just need to get my ish together and start. I really don't have much of an excuse since I've been unemployed since August 2nd. I quit my $30,000/yr job to move across the country with no job lined up in search of finding paid work in my field (marine mammal biology). Or grad school. No dice in the job department so now I am looking at grad school. Which involves taking the GRE. Ugh. I really don't want to take the GRE. And after almost 2 months, I will be starting work at a local coffee shop here earning about 45% less than I was back in Washington. I'm grateful that I finally found a job but they don't offer health insurance and I have to drive 25 minutes from home to get there because the only way to get from one side of town to the other in Wilmington is to drive through town. With my grown up bills and my now not grown up job, I will basically be able to pay my bills and put gas in my car. Luckily, the love of my life came with me and he has promised that we will be okay and the dogs will be fed and taken care of. And I trust him. It will be a struggle but I know we will survive. And I am VERY grateful to finally have a job again.

So why am I back after almost two years of not blogging? Now that I have more free time on my hands, I decided to give it another shot. Except in addition to posting my successes and failures in the weight loss department (I live right next to the beach...I need to be beach ready for next summer!), I also want to share recipes, running tips, beer reviews, book reviews and things like that. I love to bake so not all of my recipes will be "healthy" but everything in moderation, right?! So here we go again...

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Argh, this is already tough

Today has been rough. I'm on day two of the strictly limiting what I eat part of this diet and it has been not so much fun. It doesn't help that after a three day weekend, I had to go back to work. Or that as I walk into the lunchroom to put my food in the fridge this morning, there on one of the tables sits a giant platter of homemade cookies, fudge, rocky road clusters and other delectables with a sign that says "help yourself." Are you freakins kidding me?! That's torture at its finest! Working for the state is not very conducive to weight loss, I've realized. We've got a McDonalds close enough to walk to on a 15-minute break, everybody seems to like to bring in homemade goodies and several coffee stands close by. I didn't even drink this much coffee in my last few months at Starbucks. I will say this though, the recipes I got from the HCG Platinum website have so far been pretty darn tasty. Last night, chili and a "healthy" version of apple cobbler...sliced apples, cinnamon and a little stevia baked to a yummy perfection. Tonight, I'm trying lemon-parsely chicken (I don't like lemon....well, it makes me gag...but it only required dipping the chicken in lemon juice, so I hope its not too lemon-y) and a first: homemade salad dressing with balsamic vinegar and freshly squeezed orange juice (I will be enjoying the orange later); with salad, of course. We'll see how it goes. Although while writing this, I may have burned the chicken. But just a little.

It also doesn't help that TOM is in the house. When he makes his monthly visit, I am all about chocolate and anything with sugar. Maybe I should have waited an extra few days to start. But then I wouldn't be ready in time for the best day of the year: The Superbowl. So there goes that idea. I'll admit, I was craving it so bad, I snuck a little piece of one of those rocky road clusters in the lunchroom. Epic fail, I know. But I couldn't stop thinking about how yummy they looked and smelled. I even called my mom to try to talk me out of it. But I just couldn't resist the yummy chocolate. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Even though it really didn't taste as good as I imagined it was going to. Lesson learned I suppose.

Tomorrow is a new day. Let's hope for success and that my body will stop going through bread and chocolate and sugar withdrawls ASAP!

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Here's to a new year and new beginnings

Post one. My first blog. I guess I should start by explaining why I am doing this. I'm a "fat" girl. I've been overweight basically my entire life. And I've struggled with it basically my entire life. There's things that I wish my parents had done when I was younger (like forced me to pick a sport...or some physical activity) and there's things I wish I would have done as an adult (like not eat the entire pumpkin pie). But here I am. I've been lucky in that I've never gained back any of the weight I've lost and I've lost a total of about 50 pounds...over the last 8 years. I even trained for and ran the Honolulu Marathon in 2007 but somehow did not lose a single pound. Yeah, not too sure how that one happened.

This past spring, I decided to enlist in the US Navy. However, they told me I was too fat. Even though I run 4 miles a day and am physically capable (as my best friend who probably weighs half of what I do once told me...she could get in on her weight but knows that I would far surpass her in any PT test). They didn't care. All they cared about was my weight. So in the fall, after only losing 10 pounds that summer, I went to see a nutritionist. She assessed what I was eating and, more importantly, what I wasn't eating. Turns out, I wasn't eating enough food and my body was basically in starvation mode all of the time. So I started eating more. And eating healthy. Fruits, veggies, lots and lots of protein. And it worked...at first. But then I hit a brick wall and my weight wasn't budging. So she made modifications. But those didn't work. My percent body was going down and my percent lean muscle was going up but the scale was NOT budging. Finally, at my last appointment (do you know how expensive a nutritionist is?!) she suggested that if all else fails, I try the HCG diet. Only a modified version and eat more calories because of how much I work out. My goal is to lose 20 pounds.

Yesterday, I started it. The first two days have been great. I've gotten to eat whatever I want. In fact, my mom is currently making me my favorite cookies because after today, I can't endulge until February 12th. Yes, I planned this diet around the Superbowl. Something you should know about me: the Superbowl is a bigger day for me than Christmas. Just sayin'. So right now I feel great. We'll see how I feel tomorrow night.

I'm going to try post every two days about my journey on the HCG diet. I say try, cause let's face it, I'm a busy girl. But I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. And to finish on the Navy thing, I didn't enlist (obviously) but I didn't let it get me down too much. I've decided once I've lost these 20 pounds, I'm going Coast Guard Reserve as a marine science technician.

Hope everyone had a Happy New Year. I know I had a great night and am excited to start this year off right.